Food, Life, Love, Personal

#TipidTips: Top 5 Budget-friendly Couple Date Ideas

Ever since I started working in Brunei, all I’ve always looked forward to is weekends. I could take a break and rest, catch up on the latest movies, go out and have date nights with my fiancé. Because who doesn’t love weekends? We work our butts from Mondays to Saturdays and only have Sundays as day offs, and sometimes the weekend just flies by without doing anything fun at all. Then here comes Monday (again) and we wished we could’ve done something productive and fun!  So here I will be sharing to you some of the things we personally do as a couple for dates that are all budget-friendly!

Movie Marathon (or TV-Series)

One of the commonalities my fiancé and I have is our taste in movies, we both like action and comedy types of movies. And watching movies or our favorite TV series is always our go-to date night idea. All you have to prepare is your favorite chips (or popcorn) and drinks! We personally like to try out different kinds of chips that we can find at the grocery (mostly the cheap ones) and we make our own dips at home. And we often opt for fruit juices for drinks like; pineapple juice or orange juices. Since both of us are not really a fan of soft drinks. Or just go for water if you’re really on a tight budget!

Cook together

As a couple, our favourite dish is pasta. And we all know that legit-tasting pasta is kind of pricey especially in restaurants. So most of the time, we end up cooking our favourite foods at home just to satisfy our cravings. Since it is actually much cheaper when you cook (and usually a lot of leftovers for the next day) I love to cook and bake, so this is one of my favourite date night idea, because you can bond, learn new things about each other and have fun.

If neither of you know how to cook, there is always Google and YouTube! And up to this day, if we want to eat something but don’t want to spend much( we’d rather save than splurge) we just search for the ingredients and procedures online and make them at home. It’s cheaper and healthier! (because you can control the ingredients put into the food)

Window-Shopping

There is certainly no harm in window-shopping! Since we are engaged, we recently love going to department stores and check out stuffs that we would want for our future house together. Like looking at pots and pans, pillows, bed sheets, house decors etc. Our recent favourite place to do window shopping is GRÂND, which is basically filled with Ikea products and also Japan-Home like products. Take note not to be tempted to buy anything after you’ve gone window-shopping! Yes it’s so difficult! But if you must buy, (which is not anymore window-shopping LOL) make sure you’re actually going to use it.

Picnics

Weekends are perfect for picnics, especially on Sunday mornings (or during holidays). My fiancé and I have done this quite a few times and have breakfast picnic by the beach. We’d wake up very early in the morning and prepare breakfast and hopefully reach the beach before the sun rises. Usually we prepare some sandwiches (or sometimes fried rice), sausages, eggs and instant mee goreng. Or basically any breakfast food we could find at home that are easy to cook. Some beaches here in Brunei provides small cottages that are free to occupy by all but we’d prefer be under the trees (it’s much more romantic and closer to the ocean). That is why we always bring a mat/cloth that is big enough to sit on by the two of us.

Teaching each other something new

This can be anything. You can teach each other how to play a certain game, teach your girl how to play basketball or in my case learn how to drive. For the past months my fiancé has been teaching me how to drive. Every Sunday before we go off somewhere he would ask me to drive around the house a few times, so that I could learn the basics in driving. It’s a perfect bonding moment for couples to discover new things about each other and it makes the foundation of the relationship even stronger. Because you have to have trust in each other to do this. Like in my case, my fiancé trusted me that I could drive even if I didn’t have the faith in myself that I could do it. And eventually I got the courage to pull myself together that I could do it and it’s my current favourite bonding time that I look forward to every week.

So there you have it, My top 5 budget friendly couple date ideas! I want to give a shout out  to my fiancé for being my number one supporter since day 1! (HI BABY!)

I hope you got a little inspiration and some ideas on what to do with your significant other this weekend for your date. So, what are you waiting for, share this blog post on your social media and tag your S.O!

Have a great day! See you soon!

Love,

-K

Leave a comment